## THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO

## DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GENERAL FACULTY

## SUMMARY MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING of November 7, 2019

The regular monthly meeting of the Faculty Senate for the 2019-2020 academic year was held November 7, 2019, at 3:30 p.m. in the Assembly Room (JPL 4.04.22) with Dr. Chad Mahood, Chair of the Faculty Senate, presiding.

I. Call to order and taking of attendance

Present: Diane Abdo, Samson Alva, Paul Ardoin, David Bojanic, Rajendra Boppana, Lorenzo Brancaleon, Curtis Brewer, Ian Caine, Amarie Carnett, James Chambers, Langston Clark, Glenn Dietrich, Mike Doyle, Roger Enriquez, Ovidio Giberga, Alexis Godet, Abraham Graber, Jamon Halvaksz, David Hansen, Richard Harris, Matthias Hofferberth, Becky Huang, Jeffrey Hutchinson, Kim Kline, Dennis Lopez, Chad Mahood, Michael Miller, Debra Pena, Priya Prasad, Rica Ramirez, Pablo Requena, Nathan Richardson, Devon Romero, Dan Sass, Liang Tang, John Wald, Xiaodu Wang, Alistair Welchman, Karen Williams, John Zarco, Tina Zawacki, Rene Zenteno

Absent: Vangie Aguilera, Sonya Aleman, Gina Amatangelo, Sabina Bhattathiry-Kapoor, Emily Bonner, James Dawes, Drew Johnson, Andrew Konove, Ram Krishnan, Sandeep Langar, Huy Le, Ashok Nedungadi, Chris Packham (excused), Branco Ponomariov, Bill Ramos

Guests: Ambika Mathur, Heather Montoya (Paisano), Rudy Sanchez (Paisano), Sarah Soulek, Joseph Torres (Paisano)

Total members present: 42

Total members absent: 15

- II. Consent Calendar
  - Approval of minutes October 17, 2019
  - Grad Council Bylaws Graduate Faculty (approved version)
  - Proposal new name: MS in Cybersecurity Science
    - One item was pulled off the consent agenda for further discussion: Grad Council Bylaws – Graduate Faculty (approved version)

All other items were approved.

The Graduate Council Bylaws – Graduate Faculty (approved version) was further discussed by the senate and two amendments were proposed:

• Amendment #1: "Not all departments have doctoral programs. This does not preclude the faculty in those departments from (a) eligibility for appointment as Graduate Faculty Members or (b) serving as doctoral dissertation chairs where appropriate, in order to promote interdisciplinary."

There was a motion, which was seconded to approve this amendment to be added to the existing bylaws draft. The Faculty Senate voted as follows: 38 approve, 0 do not approve, 0 abstentions.

• Amendment #2: "The distinction between Graduate Faculty Scholars and Graduate Faculty is for use only in determining eligibility to serve as the sole chair of a dissertation committee. Though activities related to the distinction, e.g. chairing MA theses and chairing dissertation committees, should be considered in determining faculty workload agreements, the distinction itself, and related distinctions relevant to adjoint faculty, is not eligible for consideration in determining faculty workload agreements." There was a motion, which was seconded to approve this amendment to be added to the existing bylaws draft. The Faculty Senate voted as follows: 34 approve, 0 do not approve, 4 abstentions.

There was a motion, which was seconded to approve the entire document with both amendments incorporated. The Faculty Senate voted as follows: 35 approve, 1 do not approve, 3 abstentions.

## III. Reports

- Graduate Student Success Initiative
  - Ambika Mathur, Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate School
    - Dr. Mathur discussed the Graduate School's strategic plan to expand the number of masters students to 5,500 (by fall 2028) and expand the number of doctoral students to 1,200 to award 200 PhD degrees and train 150 postdocs. This would be a major factor in UTSA achieving NRUF and Carnegie Research 1 status. In comparison to other UT System schools, UTSA only had 822 enrolled doctoral students in fall 2018. A 35 person taskforce has recently been formed to review possible barriers to achieving this goal. The website will go live soon and there will be a portal for input and updates. The final model will be presented for feedback. If anyone is interested in being a part of a subcommittee they can contact Dr. Mathur.
  - A. Chair's Report Chad Mahood

Dr. Mahood said that there are still 2 vacant officer positions:

- Faculty Senate Secretary & NEP Chair Debra Pena was nominated and was elected by acclamation.
- Faculty Senate Vice Chair There are no nominations at this time. Anyone interested in the position can email Dr. Mahood.

Dr. Mahood said that clarification on the workload document has been posted to SharePoint stating that the "Graduate Faculty" reference in the document includes all sub-categories.

There is a new process for the senate to introduce HOP policy changes. The senate will work with Dr. Heather Shipley to initiate possible future changes. The first of these will be for the Plus/Minus grading system, charged to the senate's Academic Freedom, Evaluation and Merit Committee (AFEM).

Dr. Mahood said that Laurie Lewis has been hired as Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Success and included a link with more information on her position and qualifications.

- B. Curriculum Committee Rajendra Boppana
  - BA in Computer Science with Teaching Track
  - Hydrology Concentration for B.S. and B.A. students in Geology

The curriculum committee recommended that both proposals be approved. The senate voted to approve the proposals as follows: 41 approve, 0 do not approve, and 1 abstention.

- C. Graduate Council Chair Alistair Welchman No report.
- D. Academic Freedom, Evaluation and Merit Committee Richard Harris Dr. Harris presented guidelines prepared and submitted by the UT System Faculty Advisory Council and UT System Office of Academic Affairs. He discussed Section 2.1 which details that, "The institution's administration shall follow existing institutional policies (as detailed in Regents' Rule 40101, "Faculty Role in Educational Policy Formation"; Regents' Rule 31006, Sec. 4.1; and the U. T. System Philosophy of Shared Governance) for meaningful consort and consultation with the institutional elected faculty shared governance body/bodies to develop the workload policy. As such, development and modification of workload assignment and reporting policy by a team composed of administration and faculty is expected to be collaborative and recursive in nature." The AFEM committee presented a memo detailing concerns that the correct process had not been followed, and a resolution to resolve those concerns. There was a motion, which was seconded to approve the memo and the resolution. The Faculty Senate voted as follows: 37 approve, 0 do not approve, 0 abstentions.
- E. Budget Committee John Wald No report.
- F. HOP Committee Xiaodu Wang

Dr. Wang presented three initial concerns from the committee regarding the new policy on Institutional Conflicts of Interest.

- 1. The institutional COI is not clearly defined.
- 2. Exclusion of institutional officials from disclosing ICOI is obscured.

3. The institutional COI committee members should be elected, rather than recommended/appointed.

The deadline for faculty feedback is November 14<sup>th</sup> and feedback can be sent to Dr. Wang.

- G. Research Committee Jamon Halvaksz No report.
- IV. Unfinished Business
- V. New Business
- VI. Open Forum
- VII. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and unanimously passed at 5:10 p.m.